Hi ya’ll,

Ah, farmer’s markets. The goldmine of harvest seasons everywhere. Did anyone check out the Somerville Winter Farmer’s Market at the Armory Building this year? It was pretty cool, with wine tastings, live music, and I had constant supply to Fiore Di Nonno mozzarella all winter long! I have always been a fan of the Union Square Farmer’s Market in Somerville since I moved to Boston in 2008, maybe because they hosted my brother’s creation the Agripod back in 2009, and also, I think Union Square is just wicked cool. I will be frequenting the Union Square market again this year in between pickups at farms I will be working on and between a few shares of Red Fire Farm’s CSA. Look at this week’s haul!

I had a CSA in 2009 with Red Fire Farm and I couldn’t have been happier about it. They are an amazing organic farm in western Mass., with a great history, and their shares were a whopping 12 lbs. of veggies a week! 2009 was the year that I started a primarily veggie diet and when you have this many vegetables to consume and cook, it becomes pretty easy to stick with. I loved that Red Fire Farm also gave great, healthy, SUPER EASY recipes in their Enewsletter weekly too. I will be making the ever popular kale chips recipe from this week’s share and probably some fried zucchini too. I used a bunch of cilantro already to make this amazing salad recipe I saw on Iowa Girl Eats‘ blog for black bean, quinoa and citrus salad. So good! And like Kristin, I am also fixing up a beater bike these days:

This is my mom’s old 1970’s era Italian racing bike, which I resurrected from our family’s garage, fixed up, painted green about a week back, and I’m now just waiting for the sun to come out to tape up the handlebars in GOLD. Green & gold to celebrate the University of Vermont; GO CATS GO! I think I will name my bike ‘Catamount’ in honor of UVM’s mascot and of course, I’ll be riding it to the farmer’s market.

What do you think is the best farmer’s market in Massachusetts? Do you have a favorite vendor?

