Yesterday was Bike Friday Boston and I joined my local convoy to ride into City Hall Plaza where hundreds of bikers were treated to breakfast from Bolocco, lots of other yummy treats, and a bike expo. Right next to the Gov’t Center T stop, was the new installation of one of the Hubway kiosks:

Pretty cool huh? It was sooo windy on the ride home after work as quick showers zoomed in over the city, I found myself repeating (to myself), “Headwind’s a sumpin’ FIERCE today!” I survived though and made it home. 🙂

 

So I had many, many, pounds of blueberries left from my recent picking trip so I got to cooking something up! Here is my version of a blueberry lemon loaf cake:

Mmmmm.....frosting

 

I borrowed this recipe from VegWeb.com but I didn’t add the struesel topping (frosting is enough sugar for me!). I wasn’t intentionally looking for a vegan recipe, but this was a pretty big hit with my non-vegan friends, so give it a shot!

Blueberry Streusel Cake with Lemon Icing (adapted by Delia)

What you need:

Cake (dry):
2 cups whole wheat pastry flour or unbleached white flour (or all-purpose gluten-free flour)
1 cup organic sugar or sucanat
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 1/2 tablespoons lemon zest, finely chopped
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
Cake (wet):
1/4 cup oil (safflower, non-virgin olive, or sunflower)
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 cup nondairy milk – I used soymilk, but almond milk could work?
2 cups fresh or frozen blueberries
Lemon Icing:*
1 1/4 cups organic powdered sugar
1 tablespoon + 2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice
1/2 + 1/8 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/8 teaspoon sea salt

* I had to add about a teaspoon of water to the frosting to get it to ‘gel’.

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Combine all of the dry cake ingredients very well, making sure to remove any lumps in the sugar. Combine the wet cake ingredients (except blueberries) very well.
2. Stir into the dry ingredients, and combine well without over mixing. Stir in the blueberries. Lightly oil a 9 1/2″ x 13 1/2” pan and evenly spread the batter into it.
3. Bake for 1 hour, or until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean. Allow to cool slightly before icing the cake.
4. To make the icing, begin by removing any lumps from the sugar, if necessary. You can do this with your fingers, a fork, or by running it through a strainer or sifter. Next, combine all of the icing ingredients together well, stirring with a spoon.
5. When the cake is slightly cooled, drizzle the icing over the top. You can really have some good, old fashioned fun at this point! Now, your creation is ready to eat. Enjoy!

What is your favorite use for blueberries? 

