Salve’,

Work was so crazy last week, it was tough to get the next post up, but now the coast is clear! Though it was pretty rainy and humid through the Northeast most of this weekend, I managed to squeeze some sun-filled recipes in! I was totally inspired to make these Sunny Bloody Mary’s after scanning the August issue of Living Magazine so I picked up about two pounds of yellow tomatoes at the Union Square Farmer’s Market and a few tomatillos.

What beauties!

Here was the ULTIMATE cocktail creation:

I’ll add the recipe below. This was pretty refreshing while (wo)maning the grill before dinner; the yellow tomatoes were so sweet, and I rimmed the glass with some red pepper and chili flakes to give it a devilish kick! Topped with a lime, cilantro, and the flower of the tomatillo (the green thing sticking out), it was a trip south of the border in a glass! After indulging in these the day before, I was ready to take on zucchini fritters – bring it Martha!

 The recipe (also below) called for ‘apricot jam’…well, I don’t have any apricot jam at the moment so I used ma’s raspberry jam, which in my opinion is the BEST tasting jam around (upper left). As part of the Sriracha-forever hot sauce club, I thought I could pull off a light mayo seasoned sauce with these fritts’, but alas, the sriacha mayo was too heavy for the light fluffiness of the fritts’. Hey, you gotta experiment, right? I think mine looked even better than the example photos in the magazine. Just sayin’ 🙂

Heaven!

Do you know what this is?!!! REDEMPTION LOBSTER TACO! I had mentioned here that I was on a lobster mission, but tacos had been a bust so far. I took mom out for her birthday on Friday to Kingfish Hall in Fanueil Hall marketplace for lunch and we both ordered the lobster tacos and unsweetened ice-T with lemon. I think mom added some sugar to hers when I wasn’t looking, but it’s her

birthday so she can do whatever she wants! Don’t these look amazing?! These had HUGE succulent chunks of claw and knuckle meat from the lobster, and the corn and tomato salsa was super fresh. There was a light black bean puree that just bound it all together on and gave it a mellow, but juicy kick. So delicious!

Have you ever made a drink out of tomatoes? Do you have a favorite heirloom tomato variety?

Sunny Mary’s: (as adapted from Living Magazine, August 2011)

2 lbs. yellow tomatoes, chopped

1 cup chilled vodka

4 jarred peperoncini, plus 1/4 cup reserved pickling liquid

2 tbls. fresh lemon juice

iceee

1. puree’ tomatoes in a food processor until smooth. strain and press solids to extract juice. refrigerate until chilled, about 2 hrs.

2. stir together tomato juice, vodka, pickling liquid, and lemon juice. *I also added some tabasco for more of a kick*. divide among ice-filled glasses, and garnish each with a peperoncini *I used a lime*.

Zucchini Fritters: 

2 medium zuccs’

1 medium onion

1/2 cup grated mozzerella (I didn’t have pecorino romano cheese!)

1/3 cup whole wheat white flour

2 large eggs, lightly beaten

salt & pepper to taste

evoo, for frying

plian yogurt and fruit jam of your choice!

1. grate zucchini on the large holes of a box grater, squeezing out any excess liquid; repeat with onion

2. mix together zucc, onion, cheese, flour. season with 1 tsp. salt and 1/4 tsp. pepper. stir in eggs just before frying.

3. heat a medium skillet over medium-high heat. working in batches, coat skillet with 1-2 tbls. oil. scoop mounds of batter into skillet; flatten slightly using a spatula. cook until golden brown and cooked through, 2-3 minutes per side.

4. transfer fritters to paper-towel on a plate to drain off excess oil. serve with dollops of plain yogurt and jam. eat & enjoy!

