Last weekend was one the coolest festivals that annually comes to the People’s Republic of Cambridge/Somerville – the HONK Festival! Three days are filled with leftist marching bands competing on street corners for the crowd’s undying attention, followed by a crazy parade Sunday am that includes everything from…

Marching bands…

To DIY craft groups…

To political protesters…

Chinese and other ethnic cultural groups…

To green-friendly causes…

To homemade bicycle enthusiasts…

To kids marching bands…To roller-derby mavens (I think I could get into this!!!)…

To homemade circus acts.

There was A LOT going on, and of course I needed fuel to get me going on Sunday morning after a busy weekend already including a Ben Harper concert, working the Boston Local Food Festival, and another show on Saturday night. It was a crazy music weekend! So, to fuel up I reached for my block of Cabot Reserve Smokey Bacon Cheddar (or SBC, as it will now be known as)!

Straight outta’ VT, I did not know this existed until stumbling upon it, and my gosh, how my world has changed! Look at the chunks of bacon-ey goodness packed into this baby!

I think melting it on oh, JUST ABOUT ANYTHING, would be great but it will be especially satisfying on Cobb salads or in mac & cheese, obvi. My slices of SBC landed between two slices of whole wheat toast, with a fried egg, red onion, and a dash of Tabasco. YUMMERS!What is the last band you saw live? Who are you dying to go see for the first time? For me, I still haven’t seen the Avett Brothers so I need to make that happen after several missed opportunities in the last year.

Ciao

